## Department of Oceanography, National Sun Yat-sen University

Regulations Governing the Establishment of the Academic Committee

Approved at the preparatory meeting on December 5, 2012 Amended at the preparatory meeting on March 13, 2013 Approved at the Department Affairs Council meeting on September 25, 2013 Amended and Approved by the Department Affairs Meeting on April 15, 2015

- Article 1. The Department of Oceanography at National Sun Yat-sen University (hereinafter referred to as "the Department") establishes an Academic Committee to effectively plan and implement academic research-related affairs.
- Article 2. The committee shall consist of three members elected from among the Department's faculty at the rank of Assistant Professor or above. The member receiving the most votes shall serve as the convener. In the event of a tie, the Department Chair shall appoint the convener. The convener will automatically serve on the committee the following academic year to maintain continuity in decision-making. Each committee member serves a one-year term and may be re-elected once.
- Article 3. The responsibilities of the Academic Committee include: reviewing academic regulations for students, related scholarships, graduate student assistantships (Master's and Ph.D.), and other academic affairs.
- Article 4. Committee decisions are to be implemented upon approval by the Department Chair. If the Chair disagrees, the matter shall be submitted to the Department Affairs Meeting for resolution.
- Article 5. These guidelines shall be implemented upon approval by the Department Affairs Meeting; amendments shall follow the same procedure.